eCPPT – Review and Passed

I am pleased to be able to report I am now a proud holder of eCPPT.

From my own background and perspective the course and exam was a very enjoyable experience. I would recommend this to anyone interested in security and perhaps on a limited budget.

I had done CEH prior to this course and personally found CEH useful in giving me a good foundation to approach this course. My day-to-day working life is not at the moment centred on security.

From my initial contact with eLearn security, I was impressed by the way I was handled as a potential customer and supported in terms of believing that I could achieve.

I did ponder long and hard before I parted with my own hard-earned cash.

After making my decision to join the course, I initially did feel a bit unsure in what I had bought into, mainly due to my concerns that perhaps I could not do this on my own in a distance learning fashion.

My fears where quickly put to rest, once I seen responses to my questions and I had read every post in the forums to make sure I was not adding posts already answered and just creating a general nuisance of myself.

The responses I received gave me matters to think about and pointers as to where to head to next, which is useful when you’re learning; building on my understanding was a combination of taking in the good advice and information in the slides/videos and asking appropriate questions.

I never felt at any time that if I had tried on my own and had to request for more info that I would not be given some sort of support, be it from someone experienced on the course or Armando the creator himself.

I would also say that experience from network+ and CCNA came in useful, as did some of my previous studies in relation to web technology including HTML, CSS (limited PHP and SQL), a basic understanding of Linux is also helpful.

The challenge of the exam really does focus on expecting you to apply what you learn; I believe this to be an excellent approach. No exam cram sessions on this one I am afraid, if you’re really only looking for another CV filler.

I had good fun and I believe that Armando is building on its success and looking to provide new and interesting experiences for current and potential new students. I look forward to this and hope to continue on as a student/contributor as I learn and have more fun.

If like me you wondered if you had what it took to perform a manual web application penetration test, then this is the one for you!

Details of the course content can be found at http://www.elearnsecurity.com/

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

